If you are curious as to how statute of limitations affects you, watch this video: Statute of Limitations Video

Statutes of Limitations For Minors

What is the statute of limitations for your legal rights as a minor?


Minors Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitation Laws for Minors

When it comes to the prosecution of minors their alleged crimes as well must fall within a certain time-line allowed by law. A statute of limitations is simply that time which is allotted by law of the state within which minors can be prosecuted or held liable for debt or any crime and criminal actions.

Children often make mistakes, and to be a child with a record is often not what most parents want for their kids. Make sure you visit with an attorney who has handled juvenile defense cases before. Ask for references and try to get a a good idea on how effective legal counsel from this lawyer or firm will be for your child.

Your Child and Negligent Doctors and Hospital Staff

If your child was misdiagnosed or suffered an injury due to a negligent doctor or hospital staff it's imperative you seek proper counsel as soon as possible. The statute of limitations on injuries at most is only a few years after your child turns 18 and some are even sooner.

Below is a listing of the states and their statute of limitations as they pertain to minors within that state. While this list is updated regularly, often-times laws about minors in every state get modified, repealed, amended or changed by legislation. Please locate a lawyer who is qualified to represent you in your legal matter.

Get Your Case Reviewed by Juvenile Defense Attorney In Your Area
Justice Scales

Enter Your Zip Code To Find a Lawyer Near You:


STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR MINORS

STATE STATUTE RULES
Alabama Limitation period Begins to run on the minors 19th birthday, except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Alaska Limitation period Begins to run on the minors 18th birthday, except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Arizona Limitation period Begins to run on the minors 18th birthday, except in cases of wrongful death
Arkansas 3 years from date of 21st birthday
California 3 years from date of injury
Colorado Begins on date of 18th birthday (excluding wrongful death cases)
Connecticut No special rules for minors
Delaware No special rules for minors
Florida No special rules for minors
Georgia Time Begins to run on date of 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death)
Hawaii Time Begins on date of 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death)
Idaho No special rules for minors
Illinois No special rules for minors
Indiana Begins on date of 18th birthday (except in cases of wrongful death)
Iowa Begins on date of 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death)
Kansas 1 year after date of 18th birthday (except in cases of wrongful death)
Kentucky Begins on 18th birthday
Louisiana No special rules for minors
Maine 6 years after date of 18th birthday
Maryland 3 years from date of 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death)
Massachusetts Begins on minors 18th birthday
Michigan 1 year from date of 18th birthday
Minnesota Begins on date of 18th birthday (except in wrongful death cases)
Mississippi Begins on date of 21st birthday. except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death.
Missouri Begins on date of 21st birthday. except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Montana Begins on date of 18th birthday. excluding medical malpractice or wrongful death
Nebraska Begins when minor turns 20 years old (except in wrongful death cases)
Nevada Begins on minors 18th birthday (except in medical malpractice or wrongful death cases)
New Hampshire 2 years from 18th birthday
New Jersey Begins on 21st birthday
New Mexico 1 year from date of 18th birthday
New York 3 years from date of 18th birthday (excluding wrongful death cases)
North Carolina 3 years from date of 18th birthday
North Dakota Time Begins on 18th birthday (excluding wrongful death cases)
Ohio Time Begins on 18th birthday
Oklahoma Time beings on 18th birthday (excluding malpractice cases)
Oregon 5 years from date of 18th birthday
Pennsylvania 2 years from date of 18th birthday
Rhode Island Time Begins on 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death)
South Carolina 1 year after date of 18th birthday
South Dakota Begins on 18th birthday
Tennessee Begins on date of 18th birthday
Texas Begins on date of 18th birthday
Utah Begins on date of 18th birthday
Vermont Begins on date of 18th birthday
Virginia No special rules for minors
Washington Begins on 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice and wrongful death)
West Virginia Begins on date of 18th birthday (except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death)
Wisconsin 2 years after date of 18th birthday
Wyoming 3 years from date of 18th birthday
Complete minor statute of limitations can be found on the State Statute of Limitations page.
Disclaimer: Statute of Limitation laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended, and/or changed by the legislature of that states jurisdiction. The authors and webmaster of StatuteofLimitation.info have made every effort to post the most current laws. Please use this site as a general reference and for comparison purposes. Do not substitute any information from this site for advice you would get from a qualified legal professional

Investigator Badges