If you are curious as to how Mississippi statute of limitations affects you, watch this video: Statute of Limitations Video

Mississippi Statutes of Limitations

What is the statute of limitations for your legal rights in Mississippi?


Mississippi Statutes

Statute of Limitation Laws in Mississippi

Mississippi State SealIn order to convict you of an offense or sue you for monetary gain, your crime, tort or contractual agreement must fall within a certain time-line allowed by law. An Mississippi law on statute of limitations is simply that time which is allotted by the law as written by the state of Mississippi within which you can be convicted or held liable for a debt.

Below is the Mississippi statute of limitations listings for a number of different offenses and torts. While this list is updated regularly, often-times laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended or changed by legislation. Please consult with a qualified Mississippi attorney in this and any other legal matter.

We have found a service where you can ask your legal question for free and get responses only from qualified Mississipppi lawyers in that particular field. The form below will help you get started by simply entering your MS zip code to find a Mississippi state criminal defense, or civil lawyer near you.

Post Your Legal Question For Free to a Qualified Attorney
Justice Scales

Enter Your Zip Code To Find a Lawyer Near You:


MISSISSIPPI STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Type of Offense Length of Statute
Any capital offense:No Limit
Drug trafficking:No Limit
Forgery (felony):No Limit
Counterfeiting(felony):No Limit
Rape:No Limit
Contracts:3 Years
Injury to personal property:3 Years
Open accounts for debt collections:3 Years
Wrongful Death:3 Years
Medical Malpractice Actions:2 years with Discovery Rule, but no more than 7 years after occurrence. These time limits apply to minors six and older. In the case of minors under six years of age, medical malpractice actions must be filed within two years of the date of the child's sixth birthday. Mississippi also requires all persons who intend to file a medical malpractice action to give a 60 day written notice of action to the defendant.
Code Section § 15-1-36(1)
Fraud:2 years from when the fraud was or reasonably should have been discovered.
Intentional Torts:1 Year
Libel | Slander | Defamation:2 Years
Personal Injury Actions:2 years from the date of injury
Oral Agreements:3 Years
Rules for Minors:Limitation period begins to run on the minors 18th birthday, except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Products Liability Actions:Within 1 year of the date the injury occurred
Complete Mississippi criminal revised statute of limitations can be found on the Mississippi Criminal Statute of Limitations page.
Disclaimer: Statute of Limitation laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended, and/or changed by the legislature of that states jurisdiction. The authors and webmaster of StatuteofLimitation.info have made every effort to post the most current laws. Please use this site as a general reference and for comparison purposes. Do not substitute any information from this site for advice you would get from a qualified legal professional

Mississippi Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

In order for an Mississippi debt collector or debt buyer to sue you to collect a debt they have to do that within the time limits that the state of Mississippi law requires. This is what is known as the statute of limitations. If they sue you outside of that statute of limitations then that may violate the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Even threatening to sue you beyond the statute of limitations can also be considered a Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) violation.

If you are dealing with an unscrupulous Mississippi debt collector that is threatening you with a lawsuit, whether verbal or written, for an old debt, then you need to look at the Mississippi statute of limitations if that debt collector has a potential case against you or has potentially violated the FDCP Act.

Investigator Badges