If you are curious as to how Vermont statute of limitation affects you, watch this video: Statute of Limitations Video

Vermont Statutes of Limitations

What is the statute of limitations for your legal rights in Vermont?


Vermont Statutes

Statute of Limitation Laws in Vermont

Vermont State SealIn order to convict you of an offense or sue you for monetary gain, your crime, tort or contractual agreement must fall within a certain time-line allowed by law. An Vermont law on statute of limitations is simply that time which is allotted by the law as written by the state of Vermont within which you can be convicted or held liable for a debt.

Below is the Vermont statute of limitations listings for a number of different offenses and torts. While this list is updated regularly, often-times laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended or changed by legislation. Please consult with a qualified Vermont attorney in this and any other legal matter.

We have found a service where you can ask your legal question for free and get responses only from qualified Vermont defense attorneys in that particular field. The form below will help you get started by simply entering your VT zip code to find a Vermont criminal defense lawyer near you.

Post Your Legal Question For Free to a Defense Lawyer
Justice Scales

Enter Your Zip Code To Find a Lawyer Near You:


VERMONT STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Type of Offense Length of Statute
Any capital offense:No Limit
Rape:No Limit
Arson:11 Years
Forgery | Robbery | Burglary (felonies):6 Years
Counterfeiting (felony):6 Years
Contracts:6 years; or 10 years if under seal
Injury to personal property:6 Years
Open accounts for debt collections:3 Years
Fraud:6 years from when the fraud was or reasonably should have been discovered.
Oral Agreements3 Years
Intentional Torts:3 Years
Libel | Slander | Defamation:3 Years
Medical Malpractice Actions:The time statutory time limit in Vermont is three (3) years for most malpractice cases. The limit is 2 years from the time an injury should have been discovered. If the patient was a minor, the statute of limitations begins upon their 18th birthday.
Code Section Title 12 § 521
Personal Injury Actions:3 years from the date of injury
Rules for Minors:Two year limitation period begins to run on the minors 18th birthday, except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Products Liability Actions:Within 1 year of the date the injury occurred. Or if the injury is not discovered right away, the plaintiff has within 1 year the injury is, or should have been discovered, to file a law suit
Wrongful Death:2 Years
Complete Vermont criminal revised statute of limitations can be found on the Vermont Criminal Statute of Limitations page.
Disclaimer: Statute of Limitation laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended, and/or changed by the legislature of that states jurisdiction. The authors and webmaster of StatuteofLimitation.info have made every effort to post the most current laws. Please use this site as a general reference and for comparison purposes. Do not substitute any information from this site for advice you would get from a qualified legal professional

Vermont Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

In order for an Vermont debt collector or debt buyer to sue you to collect a debt they have to do that within the time limits that the state of Vermont law requires. This is what is known as the statute of limitations. If they sue you outside of that statute of limitations then that may violate the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Even threatening to sue you beyond the statute of limitations can also be considered a Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) violation.

If you are dealing with an unscrupulous Vermont debt collector that is threatening you with a lawsuit, whether verbal or written, for an old debt, then you need to look at the Vermont statute of limitations if that debt collector has a potential case against you or has potentially violated the FDCP Act.

Investigator Badges