If you are curious as to how Utah statute of limitation affects you, watch this video: Statute of Limitations Video

Utah Statutes of Limitations

What is the statute of limitations for your legal rights in Utah?


Utah Statutes

Statute of Limitation Laws in Utah

Utah State SealIn order to convict you of an offense or sue you for monetary gain, your crime, tort or contractual agreement must fall within a certain time-line allowed by law. An Utah law on statute of limitations is simply that time which is allotted by the law as written by the state of Utah within which you can be convicted or held liable for a debt.

Below is the Utah statute of limitations listings for a number of different offenses and torts. While this list is updated regularly, often-times laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended or changed by legislation. Please consult with a qualified Utah attorney in this and any other legal matter.

We have found a service where you can ask your legal question for free and get responses only from qualified Utah defense attorneys in that particular field. The form below will help you get started by simply entering your UT zip code to find a Utah criminal defense lawyer near you.

Post Your Legal Question For Free to a Defense Lawyer
Justice Scales

Enter Your Zip Code To Find a Lawyer Near You:


UTAH STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Type of Offense Length of Statute
Any Capital Offense:No Limit
Drug Trafficking:No Limit
Forgery | Burglary | Grand Theft (felonies):No Limit
Counterfeiting (felony):No Limit
Rape:No Limit
Contracts:6 years; or 10 years if under seal
Injury to Personal Property:4 Years
Open Accounts for Debt Collections:4 Years
Oral Agreements:4 Years
Fraud:3 years from when the fraud was or reasonably should have been discovered.
Wrongful Death:2 Years
Intentional Torts:1 Years
Libel | Slander | Defamation:1 Years
Medical Malpractice Actions:The patient has two (2) years to file suit in Utah for a medical malpractice claim. If a foreign object has been left in the body, the patient then has 1 year from the time of discovery or from the time the object has been left in the body. If the patient is a minor, the statute runs out 1 year after their 18th birthday. If a foreign object is found, legal age does not apply.
Code Section § 78-14-4
Personal Injury Actions:2 years from the date of injury
Rules for Minors:Limitation period begins to run on the minors 18th birthday, except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Products Liability Actions:Within 2 year of the date the injury occurred.
Complete Utah criminal revised statute of limitations can be found on the Utah Criminal Statute of Limitations page.
Disclaimer: Statute of Limitation laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended, and/or changed by the legislature of that states jurisdiction. The authors and webmaster of StatuteofLimitation.info have made every effort to post the most current laws. Please use this site as a general reference and for comparison purposes. Do not substitute any information from this site for advice you would get from a qualified legal professional

Utah Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

In order for an Utah debt collector or debt buyer to sue you to collect a debt they have to do that within the time limits that the state of Utah law requires. This is what is known as the statute of limitations. If they sue you outside of that statute of limitations then that may violate the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Even threatening to sue you beyond the statute of limitations can also be considered a Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) violation.

If you are dealing with an unscrupulous Utah debt collector that is threatening you with a lawsuit, whether verbal or written, for an old debt, then you need to look at the Utah statute of limitations if that debt collector has a potential case against you or has potentially violated the FDCP Act.

Investigator Badges